The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey,

I was just given a 1958-59 Winchester model 94 .32 special it is my first gun. It's been a blast to shoot but I am new to the sport and I was curious if its a good idea to add a scope to it. Or is it better to just keep it authentic. And if a scope is a good idea what kind of scope should I look for I do not want to damage the gun in anyway. I am hooked!
Also if it makes a difference I am preparing myself for next hunting season.
Thank you

·
Registered
672 Posts
I'm not an expert at on these guns, but I would guess it eject's the empty cases upward?, so a sidemount type scope might be your only option, BUT...I seriously doubt that anyone here will suggest altering the gun(having holes drilled/tapped)in any way, enjoy it for what it is, and only take shots at game that are within the gun's, and your ability with the open sights, if it were mine, and original/unaltered, I would not do anything to it and just enjoy it, any alteration will reduce the value as well, sometimes greatly reduce it, depending on the alteration,

Just hang on, some that actually knows something will be along to provide some educated advice,

·
Registered
764 Posts
Vintage Winchester lever-actions should never be scoped! The first non-factory hole that you drill in the gun will result in a minimum 50% reduction in the value, not including the cost to have the work done.

Bert H.

·
Registered
548 Posts