Share Your Gun Room

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Enfield, Aug 24, 2008.

1. Enfield

Enfield New Member

Hi
    I thought that it may be a good idea see each others treasures. I have been collecting for a few years now and have odds and ends going back to the 1700's that I thought may be of interest.

I love to see others collections and usually get to learn something, which is great as we all seem to go in slightly different directions.

When the weather gets better over here I will drag the guns outside for a few photos. If you get to know who has what it could be quite good fun - will Tranter be brave enough to show his hidden collection of Glocks ha ha.

Anyway I hope this is of interest

Cheers

Enfield in NZ

Attached Files:

2. Marlin T

Marlin T Well-Known Member

Wow, very nice collection!!!! Very nice indeed.

3. TranterUK

TranterUK Guest

Oddly Tranter doesn't have a collection of Glock's, just an original Mod17 for information.

I should add I also have also had many bits from history. Working as an arms consultant to museums has led to many interesting aquisitions.

On one occasion I was given a collection of musket and pistol flints dug up on the field of Waterloo sixty odd years ago. I have also had a couple of bits of the famous HMS Victory, removed during restoration.

Getting back to guns, a small museum many years ago found a dozen rifles in the attic. They called the police, who called a museum authority, who asked me to go look.

Turned out they were Mausers from the S.African Boer war, taken by a local regiment as trophies around 1899/1900. They were in fantastic condition with many carvings on the stocks, names, home towns etc.

One interesting mystery was that most were very worn about the balance point on the underside. The mystery was solved when someone pointed out the Boers carried their rifles in front of them, rested across the saddle.