The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
475 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How is the minimum load figured for a round being developed ? Why I am asking this you might be wondering ? When testing loads for my 1891 Mauser in 7mm in IMR4895 I started shooting from highest to lowest 38.0gr to 34.0gr . Normally I start lowest to highest . And as normal the lowest one was the most accurate . And when shooting from 38.0 down the accuracy of course was getting better and better . The grouping at 34.0gr is very nice but still some room for improvement . Yes I know my quirks while shooting and the rifle itself factors in . As long as there is enough of a charge to get the bullet down range what or are there any dangers to loading below the suggested minimum load because I would like to try 33gr to maybe 30gr test loads to see if the accuracy would still improve more .

·
Premium Member
9,342 Posts
:oops:

Me thinks 30 grains is way too low. That’s 12% below minimum and I’m no expert but that seems a bit scary. I believe what you should be most concerned about is detonation. That’s when things ha go BOOM instead of Bang. Someone will have to explain the science behind this but what I think k happens is due to the lower powder volume in the case more is ignited by the primer and it all goes at once instead of a “controlled burn”. I know you needed H4895 but this ain’t the same stuff.

·
Registered
4,255 Posts
The minimum is probably so you don’t get a round stuck in the barrel and fire a second shot causing a Kabommmmm,!

·
Registered
479 Posts
First, it is a STARTING load, not a minimum load.
The starting load is almost always NOTHING more than a 10-12% reduction from the MAX load. It has no relation to a SAFE MINIMUM load or even a load that will cycle all guns chambered in that cartridge. I have no idea why Lee decided to call it a MINIMUM charge.