The Firearms Forum banner

Silencers?

4K views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  Ranb 
#1 ·
I wanted to ask some of the experienced guys here. Do silencers really work, or is it just TV fiction? I've always wondered this. I don't know how legal they are either, but they interest me because I'm worried about hearing damage from practice. My ears are very important because I'm an audio engineer, and with damage I would be out of a job. I do plan on using some serious ear protection at the range, but I figure any little bit extra would help a lot.

#2 ·
Willy , it depends on the silencer , but basically yes

there are differing levels of noises suppresion / dispersion

as a audio guy you'd know about the differences between the two

some calibers lend themselves well to being silenced some not so much

the shorter the round compared to the bore size helps a lot

a .45 will silence nicely as will a .22 but a long .308 lapua projectile is a bit more complex or say a .222 incot ( very long compared to a standard projectile)

i used to have a doc on this but i dunno where it is now

showed a graph that explained it well

anyway the short answer is yes a silencer does work and if using a pistol round or similar works very well

sub sonic ammo ad's a whole level on this and no foolin you hear the action on a 9mm more than the round when a good silencer and sub sonic ammo is used correctly

hope this helps

cheers

jack

#3 ·