The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to this rifle and have a question: I can find no way to lock the bolt carrier open without having an empty magazine installed. This rifle has a detachable mag, and it's rather...awkward to install a new mag while having to hold the bolt carrier back manually. Is this typical? Thanks!

·
Premium Member
14,151 Posts
Im new to this rifle and have a question: I can find no way to lock the bolt carrier open without having an empty magazine installed. This rifle has a detachable mag, and it's rather...awkward to install a new mag while having to hold the bolt carrier back manually. Is this typical? Thanks!
To the best of my knowledge, that's pretty much the way it works with aftermarket (Tapco etc.) mags. I believe it was Norinco who briefly imported an SKS that would accept standard AK magazines, and on these rifles the underside of the bolt was cut to clear the magazine's lips, thus allowing insertion/removal of a magazine with the bolt closed. There's a YouTube video showing how to modify a standard SKS bolt along the lines of the Norinco's, but I don't recall the title of the video.

·
Registered
3,585 Posts
I don't know of any way to lock the action open on an SKS without either
1: Letting the magazine follower push the bolt catch up.
or
2: Pulling the bolt open by hand and sticking a finger down into the action to pull the bolt catch up.

You have to remember that the SKS was originally designed for a non-detachable box magazine. When the magazine is empty it was designed to be fed from the top down via stripper clips.
All of these detachable magazine setups are just sorta cobbled onto the action as a replacement for the original magazine.

Ahhh, yep....
nmckenzie is right. There was one or two Norinco commercial models that had an AK-style magwell cobbled onto the bottom.

·
Banned
5,425 Posts