The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just picked up this Springfield rifle yesterday but my knowledge about them is very limited. There's very few markings on this one except for the Serial #, a stamp on the stock, and an "H" on where the bayonet mounts. Is there anyone on here who can help be decipher what all these markings mean and maybe give an indication on how much this rifle may be worth?

Attachments

·
Registered
1,746 Posts
You have a low-numbered receiver, it is not considered safe to shoot. Springfield serial numbers below 800,000 and Rock Island Armory SN below 286,506 did not use double-heat treatment of the receivers, and many failed. There is an interesting backstory to this fact. Manufacturing date is 1917. Your rifle looks to be in very good condition, but I am not an expert, especially on value. I bought one about 4 months ago for $450, but it was above 800,000 SN range. Snapped it up, it was tagged at $1000, all I did was ask what he would take for it. Look at the barrel more closely, it should have the flaming bomb ordinance mark, along with a year date. That would be the barrel manufacturing date, if it is 1917(expressed as x-17, x being a number indicating month, 17 being year), you may have a real collectors piece, if all the rest of the parts prove to be all correct for date of manufacture and Springfield manufacture, it is possible (but unlikely) that it is in original configuration, as in not arsenal refinished. In that case, it could be worth several thousand dollars, shootable or not. If you look at the muzzle closely, a mark similar to an asterisk indicates a star gauged barrel, which were usually installed in National Match guns, and will command higher values. Better and more pictures would help.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·