Steaming out dings...

Discussion in 'Curio & Relics Forum' started by cointoss2, Mar 4, 2003.

1. cointoss2

cointoss2 Guest

polishshooter
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (4/10/02 10:20:54 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del All Steaming out dings...
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Hey guys, how do YOU go about raising dings on stocks you are refinishing?

I've been doing it for 20 years with varying degrees of success, with the wet rag/hot iron method, sometimes they pop right up, sometimes I get so much steam going in the house it looks like fog and they don't budge, no rhyme or reason, either...sometimes BIG ones come up better than small ones...

I was wondering if any of you guys have a better way...

I used to use the wet rag, but lately I have been using a soaked piece of Bounty, seems to hold more water, thus more steam...

BUT I guess my question is, do you soak the STOCK first, and steam out the moisture within? Or use the steam from the rag? And do you do it BEFORE you rough sand, or after??? I usually do it after I get the finish stripped, and the stock rough sanded with 60 grit...

The reason is tonight I am working on a really decent M44 stock that is coming out really nice EXCEPT for a large ding on the side where it looks like the rifle must have fallen against something like a dull blade...the grain is not cut, but it's a fairly deep "slash", about an inch long, maybe 1/8" wide, maybe 1/8" deep...it's up about half way, but will not budge any more....

Maybe there's a better way....

"Don't hear him call you an ---hole, hear WHY he's calling you an ---hole." -------- From "A Season on the Brink"

Moskovskyya
    V.I.P. Member
    (4/10/02 10:34:25 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: Steaming out dings...
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------