Taurus Customer Service

Discussion in 'Feedback Forum' started by hdbicker, Nov 18, 2011.

1. hdbicker

hdbicker New Member

I am a Retired Chicago Police Officer and I have the misfortune of buying a Taurus model 96 revolver, 22 LR. Really good price, used. I knew and was happy with the lifetime Warranty, so I figured, why not. The trigger pull was horrible. Maybe 25lbs Double Action. Still not a bad buy for the price. Even with all the stacking and power of the Hammer Springs inside, it misfired 1 or 2 times each 6 rounds. I sent it back to Taurus and the firearm was repaired in a very timely fashion. A second problem, that was never addressed by Taurus is the Cylinder was dragging against the forcing cone, causing an even harder trigger pull. I called and was Serviced by someone who identified himself as THE SERVICE MANAGER, sorry don’t remember his name.. I told him the problem and he said that I should send it back and Taurus would correct the problem. I ask why they (Taurus) didn't at least do a cursory inspection, even for safety purposes. and see the cylinder was dragging The answer was that Taurus would only repair what the consumer stated was a problem, and only that alone. ( Can you imagine a bent barrel, split cylinder, whatever) I asked if Taurus would at least pay 1/2 on the reshipping. NO! Was the answer. At 30 dollars a pop for shipping, I didn't send it back. The conversation turned a little heated, so I dropped it. I am a Former (37 Year) Chicago Police Officer, and 6 year Range Officer. I went to most Gunsmith schools, What a surprise when I opened the side plate. CRUDE, Really Crude. I lubed the moving parts and put the firearm back together. Than through my own stupidity I lost the center pin spring. Real dumb on my part. Called Taurus to order a center pin spring. They were very Polite. ( Someone named Robert ) and I was told he would send the part. NEVER GOT the part. Called again. I was told by some female in Customer Service the part would