The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I get to go Turkey hunting for the first time this spring. I got the calls and decoys. I've been practicing a little with the mouth call I got to get at it more though. The timeslot I put in for and received is May 2nd through the 6th. Planning on being out there at day light. Any recommendations or tips for first-time turkey hunter?

Bill

·
Premium Member
3,862 Posts
have you scouted the area you are going to hunt? you need to try to find either where they roost or where a favorite water hole is.

the roost is good for early morning and water for mid-day and evening before the go to roost.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am planning on hunting them in my food plot. I got lots of pictures of them last year in my food plot. Right now there is a little too much snow on the ground yet for scouting.

Bill

·
Registered
3,555 Posts
OK, I am far from an expert. But I am experience in hunting during this time of year. Be sure to have bug juice. If you have a leafy suit, wear it. Have a comfortable seat to keep you off the ground. good luck

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
I always take 2 different callers with me, a box and a reed. Makes it sound like 2 different birds. Don't sweat trying to make a perfect call, turkeys make terrible turkey calls. Don't over do them, to busy will spook them.

·
Registered
1,927 Posts
Once they get on to your call like old grump said lay off yours they will come in maybe just chirp yours if they slow down. Dont shoot them if they are fanned out unless theyre close and remember they can see forever. Any movement and they are gone. Good Luck!!

·
Registered
1,927 Posts
I always take 2 different callers with me, a box and a reed. Makes it sound like 2 different birds. Don't sweat trying to make a perfect call, turkeys make terrible turkey calls. Don't over do them, to busy will spook them.