Dismiss Notice

Please be sure to post images when you're asking what the value of your firearm(s) is. We find this to be a necessary tool when determining a value. 

US Revolver Co Hammerless

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by FoxWolf, Aug 11, 2020.

1. FoxWolf

FoxWolf Member

US Revolver Co Hammerless, haven't received it yet but serial is 4476 on trigger guard, it's in 32 s&w, when was it made and is it safe for smokeless?

BlackEagle likes this.
  2. 45Auto

45Auto Well-Known Member

I don't have my book handy, but the U.S. Revolver Co was a brand name used by Iver Johnson from 1910 through 1935.

shootbrownelk likes this.

3. FoxWolf

FoxWolf Member

I assume it's safe for smokeless then?

4. 45Auto

45Auto Well-Known Member

I suppose. Factory loads only, nothing hot. If the hinge and/or barrel latch seems to be getting loose then don't shoot it anymore. I have no experience with Iver Johnson revolvers blowing up with modern ammo, but the revolvers can be loosened up and the latch screw bent if modern ammo is used in a revolver made for black powder cartridges.

5. gdmoody

gdmoody Full Time Moderator Moderator Supporting Member

Don't shoot it with smokeless powder until you MAKE SURE it is intended for it. I have read hundreds of threads over the years with the same question and if I remember correctly, every answer has been NO, the US Revolvers were made from parts left over from when IJ went to smokeless guns. Here are just a few of those threads, found quickly with "Search"

https://www.thefirearmsforum.com/posts/2170444

https://www.thefirearmsforum.com/posts/2085242

https://www.thefirearmsforum.com/posts/2084944

https://www.thefirearmsforum.com/posts/2020586

Every one of these links has at least one post in them that says "not safe for smokeless powders"

6. FoxWolf

FoxWolf Member

did they even have a blackpowder hammerless?

7. Phil from Kansas

Phil from Kansas Member