The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie going through my first batch of 9mm. I know there is alot of opinion about which is better, accurate and consistent. I am more concerned with safety at this point.

I am using the Lee 50th anniversary kit with the balance scale ( I will be getting a digital soon) and the perfect powder measure. The powder is Winchester autocomp with a 115 RN Hornady bullet.

From the directions and tables. I have determined that I need 4.4 gn charge. The VMD shows as .0787 which comes out to .35 cc. When I use that volume the charge comes out significantly less than 4.4 gn. From what I have read it should be close and it's not going to be exact Everytime. But to get it close I adjusted the volume to .48 cc and a VMD of .1090. that's a 37% increase. I know the batches of powder can vary but that seems to be too much.

My question is should I go with the original volume of .35 or with the weight of 4.4 gn?

·
Premium Member
2,164 Posts
Trust your scale, not the powder measure. I ignore the marks on my powder measures.
I weigh the charge that they drop and screw the adjuster in or out, repeating as necessary until it weighs exactly what I want. Then I repeat weighing it at least three times to make sure.
I have a Lee perfect powder measure as well as an old RCBS uniflow. I only use the Lee for bulky powders, because it tends to shave and leak powder. (works fine with some powders though)

·
Registered
17,004 Posts
What he said.

Lee has been pushing that nonsense for years. "Easy setup. X load is 4.3 cc of powder, so screw the thingy out to 4.3 and you're good to go!"

Uh huh.

Set it to 4.3. Run ten charges through it. Dump them back in the hopper. Throw another one.

Weigh it. Adjust thingy in or out to bring "thrown amount" to the right weight.

Once you have your measure throwing the right weight, set your scale UP ten times.