The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I’m a painter that deals with dust and paint obviously wall paint oil paint all that stuff what would be a good carry gun for me that I can get dirty and dusty that won’t mess up if I clean it with laquor cleaner or paint thiner

·
Registered
210 Posts
A wagner power paint gun?

Just kidding.

Maybe a low end SS 38spl 5 shot but replace any rubber grips with wood. If you can get some ammo for it. S&W 637 or similar. I would stay away from the plastic guns with the solvents.

380 ammo is slim to none and cost as much as 44mag right now if you can find it. 9mm is easier to find and cheaper but 9mm guns are typicaly heavier and harder to pack.

·
Registered
906 Posts
642 S&W Airweight.

I have a lot to choose from. This has become my EDC. Last Poll we did on the other side, a lot of other people agreed. 642 was a predominant piece. Idiot proof, reliable, lightweight, if 5 rounds of .38 Special Hollow Points won't do it, your in a Gun Battle. Not very likely.

·
Registered
5,664 Posts
I would pocket carry a Ruger LCR in a nemesis holster. The LCR is available in 22lr, 22 mag, 327 fed mag,( it can fire 32acp,32 S&W, 32 long 32 H&R mag and 327....might be a handi attribute in these days of hit and miss ammo availability :unsure:) 9mm , 39 special and 357 mag. The nemesis holster is neoprene and cheap( no big heart ache if it needs to be replaced periodically) and should protect most of the revolver. Unless your swimming in paint that should survive your daily activities.
I would make every effort to avoid the need to use solvents to clean the gun up, line your pocket as empty holster suggests but as an amateur painter I can’t imagine a professional is sloppier than me;). .

·
Registered
5,664 Posts
No plastic gun.