The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ive only shot a few guns in my life. The though of owning one has never really crossed my mind

Anyhow im a beginner looking to get into the hobby of target shooting with an AR15. Talking to another coworker at work today about his and it has been something ive wanted to do

Doing my research now on everything, came here looking for advice on what beginner brands would you rec? Id say budget would be 400-750~ Usd

·
Registered
5,341 Posts
Prices have been sky high but they're starting to come down. I doubt you'll find anything for under 700.00 tho. We have a S&W Sport II and a Ruger AR 556. Both are dependable and accurate. The trigger on the S&W is a little better than the Ruger. Ammo is still about a dollar a round.

·
Registered
203 Posts
Radical and Anderson are both selling in your price range, I have had very good experiences with Anderson, and have not heard anything bad about Radical that did not involve operator error (aka) lack of maintenance. PSA should be in your price range, as stated prices are coming down, I have seen starter guns for as low as $499, don't forget you will most likely need to buy an optic or at least a set or iron sights at this price point.

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
Military camouflage Air gun Machine gun Trigger Camouflage

HighlandsPatriot, do you mean Radikal? I have one of their Semi-Auto Shotguns. Radikal SA1.

I second the Ruger in that entry level price range. I have one and really like it. (Vortex Strikefire II Optic.)

The middle one in the photo.

Reactions: Fletch.N

·
Registered
303 Posts