The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
total newbie here to the site.i've come to the conclusion that it's time i armed myself for the protection of me and mine against the lawless out there who think[hey,i'll break into this house and take what i want.they have more than me.it's not fair. ]they can get what they want by taking it from others.therefore, i need a firearm.question is,,,what?i figure a pistol for ease of movement in a house but,which one?i will take classes to shoot and get to know about and maintain it. i want one that will stop a person,not a popgun that will just make em mad.can you folks reccomend ?thanks in advance

·
Registered
1,953 Posts
First, there's more to home/personal protection than just getting a big gun, but since that's what you ask my advice is to go to a gunshop that has a range and will let you rent for tryout, several different weapons. You don't buy a car without a test drive so why buy a gun without trying it out first?

Second: When it comes to having to use a gun in emergency situations, you'd be well advised to practice with it under mild intoxication (if you drink at all), in the dark having just been awakened, and other similar and unexpected situations. Being wide awake, sober, and punching holes in paper targets at known distances isn't going to do you much good at 3am with a hangover. Have your wife kick you out of bed in the middle of whoopie, etc. and do a little dry firing in the hallway for example .

The military holds drills at inopportune times and unexpected circumstances for a reason.

Third: Don't rely solely on a gun. Have other options/alerts, such as a burglar alarm and/or a driveway alarm to give you that few seconds you will need to get your butt in gear at 3am.

4th: Practice with it at ranges and at home (empty at home of course or use a kids dart gun to simulate). Hold drills with your wife. She needs to know what to do also.