The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I'm hoping someone can help me out with info. I recently came into possession of my late uncle's favorite hunting rifle (Win Model 670A bolt action chambered in 243). I like to save pictures and catalog as much info as I can about the guns I own. I am finding it surprisingly difficult to date this rifle based on model and SN, I can't seem to find a definitive listing anywhere for this specific model. He bought most of his firearms in the 50's-70's so I feel pretty sure it's in that range although he would occasionally buy or trade one from an individual. I know the 670 was a cheaper version of the Model 70 but it does have nice solid checkered stock and a two-position safety. It also has an internal push-fed magazine that I have no experience with. It's in great condition, he always took great care of his guns.

The serial number starts with a G and is 6-digits, starting with 165XXX

He always shot lights out with this gun, and I'm going to hunt with it starting this fall and in doing so retiring my old favorite Rem 788 in .243. I'm going to keep his old Bushnell 3x8 Banner scope on it for a while for nostalgic purposes. I was also able to score his 1957 Marlin 336RC in 30-30 and I can't wait to use that one either!! It's hard to tell how many whitetails fell between these two rifles.

Thanks in advance for any help.

·
Registered
8,364 Posts
See post#7 and disregard this post.
Post 1964 push feed model 70 serial numbers are absolute chaos. The 670A was NOT serial numbered in the Model 70 blocks. '68 Gun Control act required a letter in the serial number, so they started at G700,000 in 1969.

·
Super Moderator
46,420 Posts